GAM111: Beginning a SHMUP.

Week 1 and we are already started on something that looks super exciting! The first lesson was spent talking about what we are to expect during our time in GAM111: scripting 2 and looking over the basics of a simple Shoot ’em up (SHMUP)!

Getting the basics of the SHUMP or the framework is good for future reference as it should be easier to implement smaller bits and pieces in the future when I want to play around with it. I plan on putting other guns into the game so that their is some form of variation for players so they can pick and choose the weapon they can use!

Trying to get multiple guns and have them to be able to be swapped is harder than I thought it would be and am struggling to get it to work. After next week I hope to have this completed and would like to have an enemy in the game that I am able to shoot! Without something for the player to do, any game would get rather boring rather fast and is completely pointless. Even if I can get the player to shoot at targets that register to a point system, giving the player a higher overall score, I think that would be an awesome development!

I am looking forward to the weeks to come but need to start getting better time management otherwise I am going to start falling behind. I have just bought a whiteboard and plan to write up everything that I need to get done and when it needs to be done by. Hopefully this will help improve my time management if only by a little.

Leave a Reply

